What was the outcome of the 1992 presidential election.

What was the outcome of the 1992 presidential election.

What happened in the 1992 presidential election?

The 1992 United States presidential election was the 52nd quadrennial presidential election, held on Tuesday, November 3, 1992. Democratic Governor Bill Clinton of Arkansas defeated incumbent Republican President George H. W. This election marked the end of a period of Republican dominance that began in 1968.

What campaign promise did George HW Bush make in the election of 1988?

“Read my lips: no new taxes” is a phrase spoken by then-American presidential candidate, Vice President George H. W. Bush at the 1988 Republican National Convention as he accepted the nomination on August 18. The speechwriter Peggy Noonan wrote the line. It was the most memorable sound bite in the speech.

How many terms did the bushes serve?

George Bush was elected president of the United States for one term.

How many Bush presidents were there?

The family is well-known for its involvement with politics. They have held many national and state office positions, including one as a U.S. Senator.

The Bush family is best known for its involvement in politics. They have held various national and state offices over four generations, including a governor, Jeb Bush and two U.S. presidents, one of whom was also Vice President, George H. W .

Read:  Five Great Things About Beaver Builder Page Creator

Who ran against Bush in 1996?

1996 United States presidential election

Party Democratic Republican
Home state Arkansas Kansas
Running mate Al Gore Jack Kemp
Electoral vote 379 159
States carried 31 + DC 19

Who ran against George W Bush the first time?

Bush, a Republican, took office following a narrow victory over Democratic incumbent vice president Al Gore in the 2000 presidential election. Four years later, in the 2004 presidential election, he defeated Democrat nominee John Kerry to win re-election.

Who ran against George W?

2000 United States presidential election

Presidential candidate Party Running mate
Electoral vote
George Walker Bush Republican 271
Albert Arnold Gore, Jr. Democratic 266
Ralph Nader Green

Who was in power in 1972?

Sir Edward Richard George “Ted” Heath, KG, MBE (9 July 1916 – 17 July 2005) was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1970 to 1974 and Leader of the Conservative Party from 1965 to 1975. Heath served for 51 years as a Member of Parliament from 1950 to 2001.

When was the last hung parliament in the UK?

The elections of 1929 resulted in the last hung parliament for many years; in the meantime, Labour had replaced the Liberals as one of the two dominating parties. Since the elections of 1929, there have been three general elections that resulted in hung parliaments in the UK.

Read:  What are the key features of MongoDB and how can they be useful?

Who was the prime minister in 1977?


BJP (2) INC/INC(I)/INC(R) (6+1 acting) JD (3) JP (1) JP(S) (1) SJP(R) (1)
No. Name (Birth-Death) Term of office
3 Indira Gandhi (1917-1984) 24 March 1977
4 Morarji Ranchhodji Desai (1896-1995) 28 July 1979
5 Chaudhary Charan Singh (1902-1987) 14 January 1980

What government was in power in 1979?

The 1979 United Kingdom general election was held on Thursday 3 May 1979 to elect 635 members to the British House of Commons. The Conservative Party, led by Margaret Thatcher, ousted the incumbent Labour government of James Callaghan with a parliamentary majority of 43 seats.