What are the basic types of stratification systems you can use?

What are the basic types of stratification systems you can use?

What are the two main types of stratification systems you can use?

There are two basic types of stratification systems in existence today: class systems and caste systems. Systems of stratification can be closed or open. Individuals are allowed to move between ranks.

How is a class system different from a caste system?

Classes depend mainly on economic differences between groupings of individuals–inequalities in possession and control of material resources–whereas in caste system non-economic factors such as influence of religion [theory of karma, rebirth and ritual (purity-pollution)] are most important.

What is the key distinction between a caste system and a class system quizlet?

Class systems allow for fluid movement and are large-scale, whereas caste systems where one’s social status is fixed for life are rigid.

What is the characteristics of caste system?

Caste refers to a type of social stratification that is characterised by endogamy or hereditary transmission. It often includes an occupation, a ritual status in a hierarchy and customary social interaction.

What is an example of caste system?

The Indian caste system is the most prominent ethnographic example for caste. It is a legacy of ancient India and has been transformed by many ruling elites, including the British Raj and the Mughal Empire, in modern, medieval and early-modern India. It is the foundation of Indian affirmative action programs.

Read:  What was the 17th Amendment changed for?

What are the eight pillars of caste?

The eight pillars that make up the American caste system

  • Divine will and the laws of nature.
  • Heritability.
  • Endogamy and control of marriage and mating.
  • Purity vs. pollution.
  • Occupational hierarchy.
  • Dehumanization and stigma.
  • Terror of enforcement, cruelty as means of control.
  • Inherent superiority vs inherent inferiority.

Which is the biggest caste?

Here six of the most important:

  • Brahmins. Brahmins are the highest caste and have been traditionally priests or teachers. They make up a small percentage of India’s population.
  • Kshatriyas. Kshatriyas, which means “protector[s] the gentle people,” were historically the military class.
  • Vaishyas.
  • Shudras.
  • Adivasi.
  • Dalits.